Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Boulder Republican Women
P.O. Box 21475
Boulder, Colorado 80308-4475


MARCH 18, 2019

The Republican Women dressed in RED enjoyed a fun-filled and informative Day at the Legislature.  Kicking off the day with donuts and coffee we were joined by Senator Vicki Marble, Representative Perry Buck, also Past President of CFRW, Representatives Janice Rich, Rod Pelton, and Colin Larson, and two very endearing legislative aides.  Each shared their legislative experiences this session to date and their frustrations in being in the minority.


From there, some of the group joined the oil and gas protest group at the Capitol, while others toured the Capitol.  We reconvened at 10:00 a.m. to visit the Senate floor where Senator Marble graciously introduced the group.  We moved to the House floor where Representative Perry Buck introduced the group.  There was more action on the House floor for the group to observe.  All of the Republican Senators and Representatives were happy to see the women in Red. We gathered on the West side of the Capitol for a group photo.


A box lunch was enjoyed back at Legislative Services Building.  Senate Minority Leader Chris Holbert’s remarks to the group were most informative especially regarding the rules of the Senate.   Senator Holbert spoke of the law suit by minority senators relative to reading a bill in full if there was not unanimous consent.  This was a maneuver by the minority to slow down a particular bill which was being railroaded through the process.  The suit to be heard the next day was decided in favor of the Senate Minority.    House Minority Leader Patrick Neville’s remarks were also related to the great frustration of not being able to stop any of the horrible bills being pushed through both Houses and going to the Governor.  Representative Neville did leave the group with uplifting remarks about faith and realizing and accepting Who is really in charge.  Representative Lori Saine also spoke of some of her legislation.


It was a great Day at the Legislature!

                    Colorado Union of Taxpayers
                        The Taxpayers Voice Since 1976 

Friday, July 24, 2017
Contact:           Marty Neilson               303-747-2159

CUT First Wall of Shame Plus 2017 Taxpayer Champions/Guardians

CUT Rates the 2017 Legislature, the annual scorecard published by Colorado Union of Taxpayers released recently names Senator Vicki Marble, Fort Collins; Representative Tim Leonard, Evergreen 2017 Taxpayer Champions. Named 2017 Taxpayer Guardians are Senators Chris Holbert, Parker and Jim Smallwood, Parker and Representative Stephen Humphrey, Windsor.
In CUT First Wall of Shame are those legislators who sponsored SB17-267 and those CUT pledge signers(indicated by *) who flagrantly violated their pledge to Colorado Taxpayers:
Senators Randy Baumgardner*, Kevin Grantham*, Lucia Guzman, Kevin Priola*, and Jerry Sonnenberg; Representatives Jon Becker, KC Becker, Phillip Covarrubias*, Lois Landgraf*, Polly Lawrence*, Kimmi Lewis*, Larry Liston*, Clarice Navarro*. SB17-267 the most egregious bill in decades pushed through in the waning hours of 2017 session ripped into Taxpayers Bill of Rights preventing first, taxpayers the opportunity to testify against the bill and secondly, preventing Colorado citizens a vote on up to $1.9 B tax increase and $2.0 B increase in debt.
CUT sent position papers on 129 bills to all 100 legislators during 2017 legislative session. The CUT sponsored Legislators'/Candidate pledge to taxpayers which has been signed by many legislators lays out the following criteria: 1) TABOR, 2) New Taxes, 3) Spending Limits, 4) Tax Surplus, 5) Prioritize Spending, 6) Education, 7) Privatize, 8) Property Rights, 9) Payroll Deductions, and 10) Petition Rights. (See the complete taxpayer pledge From the 129 bills, thirty were included in the ratings calculations. The report includes each of these bills with narrative to CUT position and why. 
Colorado Union of Taxpayers encourages citizens review the entire report at
Founded in 1976, the Colorado Union of Taxpayers is our state's long-serving advocate for taxpayers.                                

PO Box 1976, Lyons CO 80540 Taxpayer Hotline 303-494-2400