Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Boulder Republican Women
P.O. Box 21475
Boulder, Colorado 80308-4475

                    Colorado Union of Taxpayers
                        The Taxpayers Voice Since 1976 

Friday, July 24, 2017
Contact:           Marty Neilson               303-747-2159

CUT First Wall of Shame Plus 2017 Taxpayer Champions/Guardians

CUT Rates the 2017 Legislature, the annual scorecard published by Colorado Union of Taxpayers released recently names Senator Vicki Marble, Fort Collins; Representative Tim Leonard, Evergreen 2017 Taxpayer Champions. Named 2017 Taxpayer Guardians are Senators Chris Holbert, Parker and Jim Smallwood, Parker and Representative Stephen Humphrey, Windsor.
In CUT First Wall of Shame are those legislators who sponsored SB17-267 and those CUT pledge signers(indicated by *) who flagrantly violated their pledge to Colorado Taxpayers:
Senators Randy Baumgardner*, Kevin Grantham*, Lucia Guzman, Kevin Priola*, and Jerry Sonnenberg; Representatives Jon Becker, KC Becker, Phillip Covarrubias*, Lois Landgraf*, Polly Lawrence*, Kimmi Lewis*, Larry Liston*, Clarice Navarro*. SB17-267 the most egregious bill in decades pushed through in the waning hours of 2017 session ripped into Taxpayers Bill of Rights preventing first, taxpayers the opportunity to testify against the bill and secondly, preventing Colorado citizens a vote on up to $1.9 B tax increase and $2.0 B increase in debt.
CUT sent position papers on 129 bills to all 100 legislators during 2017 legislative session. The CUT sponsored Legislators'/Candidate pledge to taxpayers which has been signed by many legislators lays out the following criteria: 1) TABOR, 2) New Taxes, 3) Spending Limits, 4) Tax Surplus, 5) Prioritize Spending, 6) Education, 7) Privatize, 8) Property Rights, 9) Payroll Deductions, and 10) Petition Rights. (See the complete taxpayer pledge From the 129 bills, thirty were included in the ratings calculations. The report includes each of these bills with narrative to CUT position and why. 
Colorado Union of Taxpayers encourages citizens review the entire report at
Founded in 1976, the Colorado Union of Taxpayers is our state's long-serving advocate for taxpayers.                                

PO Box 1976, Lyons CO 80540 Taxpayer Hotline 303-494-2400